El mandatario idiota (The Idiot Ruler)

A tragicomedy about the grim scheme of power

Written by Walter Ventosilla

Directed by Jorge Merced

Stage Manager: Alejandra Maldonado

Dates:

  • Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 28, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Thursday, March 5, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Friday, March 6, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 7, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 8, 2015 at 3:00pm
  • Thursday, March 12, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Friday, March 13, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 14, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 15, 2015 at 3:00pm
  • Thursday, March 19, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Friday, March 20, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 21, 2015 at 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 22, 2015 at 3:00pm

Running Time: 60 minutes

Language: Spanish with English Supertitles

Location: IATI Theater: 64 East 4th Street, NYC 10003

Website: FaceBook Event

Synopsis

Immersed in poetry and the absurd, "El mandatario idiota" paints a bleak yet comical picture of power and those who serve it--an intellectual exploration of philosophies that have transcended all historical eras.

When Jeremias, a butler, enters the chamber of the world's leader, the routine of servitude and power begins as it has every morning for time immemorial.  A parchment holds all the instructions to be followed by the loyal Jeremias, but as the omnipotent ruler creates laws to suit his every wish, his once perfectly established throne is threatened.

Starring

Vivian Deangelo
Susan Rybin

              Designers

Leni Méndez Scenic/Costume Design
Michael Birnbaum Lighting Design
Marios Aristopoulos Sound Design
Fabián Zarta Video Production
Evan Sargent Graphic Design
   

Press Contact:

Yani Perez | (212) 505-6757 | yani@iatitheater.org

Tickets

$25 General
$20 Student & Senior Citizen

Buy tickets Now