Three on a Match

Illustration by Michael Molfetas

“What happens to the clouds when they are gone? Are they dead? No. They have been disappeared.”

Written by Rhett Martinez

Directed by Eric Parness

Dates:

  • Friday, February 23, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 24, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Sunday, February 25, 2018 at 3:00pm
  • Friday, March 2, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 3:00pm
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Friday, March 9, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 10, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 11, 2018 at 3:00pm
  • Thursday, March 15, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Friday, March 16, 2018 at 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 8:00pm

Running Time: 85 minutes

Language: English

Age: 13+

Location: IATI Theater (64 E. 4th St. NYC 10003)

Website: Facebook Event

Synopsis

The Haberdasher, The Girl Bellboy, and The Queen of Isla Colinas are the only remaining inhabitants of The Grand Hotel (in the capitol city of an unnamed South American country) that was abandoned in the wake of the recent revolution. Cocooned from the daily chaos outside, the three do their best to create a life of civility, order, and even elegance. Then, a new guest arrives. He's an American. He has a reservation. He has papers. He has an agenda. He's here to take over. The three must defend themselves against the one. But how can they, the meek, triumph over him, the powerful? By working together, they give this imperialist a taste of his own medicine.

Three on a Match is a vibrant and imaginative play that crosses over into multiple genres, sometimes moving into theatre of the absurd, other times ascending into magical realism, yet always anchored in a compelling story of suspense and revenge. At times the play is delightfully funny, while other times the mystery of identity and betrayal erupts in harrowing tension. Ultimately, it’s a deeply moving story of triumph over tyranny.

Starring

Rosa Rodriguez*
Angus Hepburn*
Elisa de la Roche*
Sean Phillips*

Stage Manager
Maxwell A. Waters
Assistant Director
Anna Hogan

Fight Choreographer
Alberto Bonilla

*Appearing Courtesy of the Actors Equity Association 

Press Representative

Jonathan Slaff & Associates | www.jsnyc.com

Tickets

General $30
Student & Senior $25
   
Buy tickets Now
Promo Teaser #1